Dream JarToward the end of the year, I think it is important to reflect upon the past, but also to look forward to the upcoming year and to set goals to be accomplished. Some people list those things and others make mental notes of it.  I chose, though, to create a visual to be a constant reminder of things that I hope to achieve this next year. I took a mason jar and filled it with these things in which I believe to be objectives for me in 2013.

First and foremost, I placed my blogs logo of Pavlov, my cat, to symbolize my hopes in continuing to gain ground with the blog, in regard to fresh ideas and new readership.

In 2011, I completed my first marathon in Chicago. This was an important run because it showed me that I could commit to something that really took everything my body had. In the new year, I plan to run my second marathon in St. Louis, set for October.  The shoelace inside the jar signifies the anticipation and commitment it will take for me to do this…again.

This past May, I graduated from Drury University with a Bachelors degree in English. The tassel inside the jar symbolizes both my accomplishment of making it through college and furthering my studies to one day become a professor. I intend to start my Master’s program sometime this next year.

Dream Jar 2

Music is a very important part of my life. It serves as both entertainment and creates an emotional connection to aspects of my life. I find it important to both buy the music and to see the talent live. The show ticket in the jar is from my favorite band Beach House, who I saw in July of this year. They were fantastic live and met all of my expectations. The ticket is in the jar, in hopes that this year will be filled with not only great music, but live shows that will never be forgotten.

Recently, I have been reacquainted with my love of drawing. I grew up taking art classes during the summers for this medium. Drawing enhanced my creativity, which led me to experience other great things like writing. As I grew older, my creative outlet changed; the pen turned from drawing into writing. My love of art was transformed into a more literary focus. I now see the pen as suiting both subject. I believe this will only flourish into great things.

This year, I have found myself buying less and creating more. For Christmas, my cousin gave me a wooden sewing box, which had bicycle fabric cleverly placed inside. Her hopes were for me to use it in my future DIY’s. This year I look forward to creating new and interesting projects that are both functional and intriguing.

In 2013, I hope to not only reinvent, but to also keep true to the traditional style for which I always aim. The polka-dotted pocket square, which is at the bottom of the jar, is the base of my style, which is deeply rooted in classic menswear.

There is no question that polka dots have been around for decades and the trend has not diminished. Thus, the placement of my pocket square shows how the objects in this jar hold together the things that are most important to me and how they won’t fall by the wayside.

My wish in 2013 is to be able to accomplish these goals. We don’t know what we’re truly capable of until we actually begin to take charge of what we care about most to focus upon. I challenge to create your own dream jar and hope that you, too, may accomplish the goals you set out for yourself this next year.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

P.S. Put the dream jar in a place you will see it everyday – it will be a constant reminder of the things that you want to achieve in 2013.

Show me what you’ve created. On Instagram, use #IGdreamjar. I can’t wait to see your hopes and dreams!