I became good friends with ZRH in 2009 after we met up at a concert. It was Vampire Weekend headlining in St. Louis on the SLU campus. I had mentioned to him at the record store, that my wife and I were going to a concert to see Vampire Weekend & Beach House. He told me that he was going to the exact same show with some of his friends. I got his number and asked if he’d like to meet up in STL for dinner before the concert.

We all met up and ate pizza at Pi in STL before the show. That was the first time I had ever hung out with the Independent Gentleman outside of just seeing him at work. It was also the first time I met his good friend Matt. That night over pizza, Beach House and Vampire Weekend, it was the real starting point of our friendship. Pi had awesome pizza. Beach House put on an amazing show. Vampire Weekend killed it on stage. I have been hanging out with with Z and Matt pretty much every week since then. I’m glad to have added Blake & Nolan to our group not long after. They have all become some of my best friends.

Since then, I have attended some amazing concerts with these guys. Here are just a few of the bands we’ve seen together over the past few years:

Vampire Weekend/ Beach House
The xx/ Austra
Bon Iver
King Tuff
J. Cole/ Big K.R.I.T.
Toro y Moi
Com Truise/ Purity Ring/ Neon Indian
Shabazz Palaces
Beach House/ Wild Nothing
Sharon Van Etten

Seeing Sharon Van Etten is still one of my favorite concerts. It was a small show at the Record Bar in KC. We stood in a crowd of less than 200 people to watch the show.  Afterwards, we got to meet Sharon and we had her sign the albums we purchased. There is something special about a small folk concert; not to mention, Sharon is one of mine and Z’s favorite singer-songwriters.

I’ll never forget any of the fun times we’ve shared over these past years at concerts and even when we are just chillin’ out. I look forward to more great times with Z and my “Hipster Crew” in the future. Concert or no concert, we always have fun when we get together.

IMG_2158

This post was really just an excuse to post this pic I took of Sharon Van Etten. 🙂

-Cooper

HPSTRFLS (The Hipster Files)

