VW

It was three years ago, that I saw this band, who truly captured all the feelings I had about them since hearing their debut. Vampire Weekend is one of my favorite bands because of their collegian attitude and style with their music, which still remains relevant.

Their debut showed me a group of guys who were experiencing college life and the environment that comes with it. VW’s debut was very energetic and focused on lyrics that an English major, like myself at the time, could understand. These things include: “Oxford comma” and having to read things that can sometimes be very dull.

Modern Vampires of the City displays VW no longer as freshmen college students, but as mature men who have grown up and are looking toward the future. This can be shown in both the music and the lyrics.

The song “Step,” in particular, exhibits these qualities as Ezra Koenig sings about a love he has for a girl and is looking forward to spending time with her:

The gloves are off, the wisdom teeth are out.
What you on about?
I feel it in my bones, I feel it in my bones
I’m stronger now, I’m ready for the house
Such a modest mouse, I can’t do it alone, I can’t do it alone
Every time I see you in the world, you always step to my girl.

The music in the first album can be heard as vastly different than any other bands from their time. VW incorporated classic indie rock sounds with an Afro-Cuban beat. This remains in the most recent release, but with more orchestration.

I see this album as not only VW’s best, but also my favorite of their records. A band who has stood through all three releases solid and helped me through my college career and looking forward to the future as a man.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

