The Great Gatsby

Before I see the latest rendition of The Great Gatsby, I wanted to refresh my memory of the work. When I read The Great Gatsby in high school, I saw the book as being an essential read. It opened my eyes to how beautiful and articulate a writer could be in composing a story. F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote in such a way that my imagination could run wild with the situations he created for his characters. When I daydream about this book, I think of lavish parties, beautiful people, and a time when people were truly having the time of their lives. The most important part of this book for me was Jay Gatsby, the main character, and how he remains to be one of the most memorable characters in literary history.

Jay Gatsby was a man, like myself, enjoyed the finer things in life, but also had to struggle to obtain his goals.  He grew up wanting to make something out of himself and not remain in the status quo.  Gatsby can be described in the Drake lyric, “started from the bottom now I’m here,” because of how he constantly searched to make it to the top. He eventually reached this status as one who others idolized.

Gatsby is a mysterious, cool, class act, and a romantic. He never really tells the story of his life to others.  There is never really any solid evidence of how he obtains all his wealth. Rather, he let others make their own assumptions about who he is and how he became a tycoon.  He’s cool – he carries himself as a man and doesn’t let others bring him down.  He is on top of the world with his cars, impressive wardrobe, and is a host of parties, which people from all over the country come to attend.  Gatsby is always careful with his words and expresses himself in such a way that he doesn’t come across as a jerk.  He stands for respect from himself and from others.  He also longs for love, which is honestly one of the most valuable parts of his character. He does everything in the world to obtain a lost love with Daisy. His heart aches for his past love and longs for one in the future. These is nothing more romantic about a character that, overtime, fights for the love of his life and will do anything to get her back.

Gatsby, despite his flaws, sought out to make something with his life and seek greatness. He was a man unlike any other, a true independent gentleman. He will remain one of my favorite characters in literature.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

