letterman 1

 

In sports, there is always a drive for an athlete to earn their letters, in which he or she puts on a jacket to represent their ability.  I grew up adoring sports and athletes that represented them. The letters mean something more to me now than they did then.

letterman 2

 

I chose to buy the letters I am wearing on my cardigan as a link to the past and to also reminisce about my upbringing.  The sports I once played and loved remain at the grain of my being. The letters, like various projects I have constructed, are small details, in which I still hold on to and deem important.

Baseball, at one time, was a sport that I adored just as much as tennis. I played my seventh and eighth grade years for a local Park Board league. I had friends who also enjoyed the sport so much, we would play it before and after practice. It was a way for me to not only to have a good time with friends but also gain focus for my future sport of tennis. I say this because baseball, to me, is more so an individual sport than it is a team effort.  I’m not saying that baseball isn’t a team sport, but it made me focus on myself and how I performed on the field as an individual.

letterman3

 

Baseball helped shape me for an individual task on and off the field. The pictures here are of the baseball field where I once practiced for hours on end. Setting my feet on the dirt reminded me of those moments in which I spent hours of throwing, hitting, and stealing bases. These are the moments that will never be forgotten and remain in my memory as time well spent.

letterman 4

 

During the photo shoot, Wezzy (my photographer) and I encountered the obstacle of mud being very thick on the field because of the moisture. Over time, ironically, conditions can somehow hold someone back from reaching toward their goals. A baseball player can be seen as an individual in life, for they are the sole creators of their own destiny. They make choices on the field that produce both positive and negative outcomes.

letterman 5

 

The conditions a person encounters are unpredictable in life. This is comparable to that of a baseball player during a given game. We give it our all and face the consequences, which, to some degree we have no control. Baseball, to me, has become not only a sport I still adore, but also one that respectfully created the man I am today.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

