In trying to constantly perfect my sewing skills and accessory baggage, I chose to create a new magazine bag. This pouch, unlike my previous attempt of a carryon, this one showcases my abilities at both constructing someone that can carry multiple items, as well as my artistic technique.mag bag 2.0

I chose to use a more durable material for this project that could not only withstand impact from other things in my bag, but also maintain durability and style. As we all know, I love umbrellas and their gentleman-like qualities they’ve possessed throughout time. I purchased a stamp, which embellishes quality, from Jessica Torrant of Green Garden Stamps. Using paint to compliment the color of the navy blue material, I stamped the umbrellas and raindrops from Jessica’s Etsy. It turned out rather nicely and met my expectations for the look and feel I wanted to achieve.

I chose to place the umbrellas upside down because my mother told me that an upside down umbrella means good luck. I would like to add that assorting the pattern in this way makes the pouch very unique to me.

mag bag 2.0 2

This project was very important to me, so rather than blitzing through it, I took my time. The process took over a week, plus waiting for the stamps to arrive in the mail. I originally made the bag to the specifications of fitting both my laptop and magazine. Due to my sewing and measuring, it is more adapted toward my future purchase of an iPad.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

