During the holidays, my friend/cousin Jori gave me my first freestanding sewing box, and inside I found three different styles of remnant fabric. The one that stood out immediately to me was one that had several bicycles on it. I had various creative thoughts flood my mind on what I wanted to make with it. The best idea that I have come up with was to make a bowtie using this fabric.IMG_2692

In assistance of Elsie and Emma’s blog, A Beautiful Mess, I was able to construct this very unique piece to add to my wardrobe. The making of this piece was fairly simple, thanks to the instructions. I had to use some of my own techniques because I was unable to find the double clip that was shown in the DIY. In lieu of this piece, I found alligator clips at Hobby Lobby that serve the same purpose and are an inexpensive alternative.

bowtie 1

This bowtie are like my coats, in that it has it’s own distinctive quality. This is why he, too, has a name: meet Ryder. While his name truly fits his pattern, the name comes from the English origin, meaning messenger. I see this fitting of me; I am constantly on the hunt for innovative and noteworthy ways to express my image to you, my readers; I hope the message is distinct.

bowtie 2

I encourage you to explore your personality and your creativity, if you so desire, to make your own bowtie. Have fun with it.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

