Besides mixing and matching, the easiest way to make your wardrobe seem fresh and new, is to add some extra edge to it.  I had the idea while searching through various DIY’s. With the help from my friend Kendra, we found that stamping could make an average sweater look really unique.  All it took was a trip to my favorite thrift shop Red Racks, Hobby Lobby, and an idea of a pattern and I have a original looking whale sweater.

I had every intention, originally, to go to the thrift store and find a really soft, old sweatshirt. Instead, I found a sweater that fit my criteria, of being slim fit and comfortable.  I was quite a bargain at $2.98.  The rubber stamp and paint at Hobby Lobby (with a coupon) was around $7.00. The entire project ends up costing under $10.00.  The most difficult part of this project was the stamping.  I would definitely recommend testing out the stamp on spare fabric before putting it on the desired piece. One thing I really liked about this project was that every impression I made on the sweater wit he the stamp, it was different than the one before it. While some may like it to look perfect, so don’t fret if it doesn’t come out as you think it should.

I think it is important to pick out a rubber stamp that embodies something about you. I chose the whale because I love nautical patterns.  One day, I hope I am able to see the ocean and appreciate it for everything it is. I feel like the whale, much like sailboats, are consistently on the journey somewhere into the unknown, but are also searching to discover something great. I see myself venturing into the limitless world of possibilities. I am hopeful in finding what I am looking for in my life.

Classically Yours,

ZRH

