It’s one of my favorite holidays. Thanksgiving is a time when an we’re able to really look at the things in our life that matter and appreciate them with our family and friends. Growing up, I remember seeing this holiday as one that I spent time with family and ate really good food.  It is now that my focus has changed and it has become much more sentimental.

My family tradition has always been travelling to my grandparents, eating large amounts of food, and watching the Parade/football/dog show. I loved the sights and smells of my grandparent’s house. It always felt so warm and cozy.  Grandma made pumpkin pie, turkey, sweet potatoes w/ marshmallows, and my favorite, cranberry sauce straight out of the can. We would talk about what’s going on in our lives and crack jokes.  Needless to say, these moments have never been forgotten.  These memories continually grow and remain timeless.

Thanksgiving for me, especially now, is time to think about what is important and what I am thankful for thus far. The family and friends I have who are always there with open arms and minds for anything I may want to converse about.  I am constantly blessed with the people around me that motivate me to my highest potential.  My mom has helped shape me into the man I am today and she inspires me to be something great. Life is nothing but an uphill battle and a journey into the unknown.  Mom has been there since day one to back up all of my choices. Whenever I am in doubt, I go to her for help and she always gives me the right advice.

This holiday should be spent with the people you love and those who inspire you in some way.  I have learned over the years, celebrating Thanksgiving, to be thankful for the people that have helped shaped me into the independent gentleman that I am today.  Have a good Thanksgiving.

Classically yours,

ZRH

 

