Walking through the park has always been a way for me to relax and to be inspired.  I see nature through the eyes of British Romantics, like William Wordsworth, who saw nature as an empowering force, making one become more focused and enlightened about his surroundings. In is famous Lines Written a Few Miles Above Tintern Abbey, Wordsworth says:

“For I have learned To look on nature, not as in the hour Of thoughtless youth, but hearing oftentimes The still, sad music of humanity, Nor harsh nor grating, though of ample power To chasten and subdue. And I have felt A presence that disturbs me with the joy Of elevated thoughts; a sense sublime Of something far more deeply interfused, Whose dwelling is the light of setting suns, And the round ocean, and the living air, And the blue sky, and in the mind of man, A motion and a spirit, that impels All thinking things, all objects of all thought, And rolls through all things.”

Color is one of the things I notice when I am at the park.  From the rich soil in the ground, the beautiful blue sky, the bright, yet complicated colors of the leaves on the trees, or even the shades and shapes of the blooming flowers, color is without a doubt everywhere you turn. I see this value as important and effective in not only nature, but also in how I can how I can incorporate color into what I wear.


Guys always seem to be afraid of the use of color in their attire.  Color makes tones stand out, especially when too many are mixed in an outfit.  If you stick with just one colorful piece and all other aspects of the outfit are neutral, the color pops. I makes the outfit as a whole stand out in the right way, rather than looking like a rainbow of color.

If you notice in the picture, I chose the focus of my outfit to be on my orange tie; everything else I am wearing is neutral.  This shows both the importance of the piece and how it really gives a bang to one’s outfit for the entire world to see.

Embrace color, gentlemen; don’t fear it.

Embrace color, gentlemen; don’t fear it.



Classically Yours,

ZRH

